MINERALS IN CATTLE URINE


Minerals are dosed preferentially in the urine. Indeed, the regulations are such that the blood variations are quite low and when the concentrations are changed, it is too late for the animal.

Faced with a problem of underproduction in cattle breeding, one of the complementary examinations available to the veterinarian is the analysis of urinary macroelements. When infectious and parasitic causes have been ruled out and a feed-related problem is being considered, this analysis is an additional tool in a livestock audit or follow-up.

Calciuria

Urinary calcium excretion represents only a small portion of the calcium excreted by a bovine and is not dependent on blood calcium levels (MESCHY, 2010). Thus, a low urinary pH associated with elevated calciuria is a sign of metabolic acidosis.

Phosphaturia

Phosphorus is also mostly eliminated in the faeces, its urinary excretion is low. Acute ruminal acidosis increases urinary phosphorus (ENEMARK et al., 2004; NIKOLOV, 1998) and renal failure can also cause hyperphosphaturia (LUNN and McGUIRK, 1990).

Magnesuria

The linear relationship between digestive absorption of magnesium and urinary excretion makes it a good indicator of nutritional status (MESCHY, 2010). Urinary concentration is more sensitive to magnesium deficiency than plasma concentration, making urinalysis the test of choice to diagnose magnesium deficiency. Metabolic acidosis, including that induced by low BACA in the diet, can increase renal excretion of magnesium (LUNN and McGUIRK, 1990; LEAN et al., 2006).

Urinary excretion of electrolytes (K, Na, Cl)

Urine is an interesting medium for assessing electrolyte intake given the efficiency of intestinal absorption, low faecal excretion (MESCHY, 2010) and the lack of storage in the body (APPER-BOSSARD et al., 2010). Linear relationships exist between sodium and chlorine intake and urinary elimination (APPER-BOSSARD et al., 2010). The urinary concentrations of potassium, sodium and chlorine are thus indicators of the level of dietary intake.

Find all the information concerning these dosages in our service catalogue.

Vous avez une question ?

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus !

Minéraux dans les urines chez les Bovins


Les minéraux se dosent préférentiellement dans les urines. En effet, les régulations sont telles que les variations sanguines sont assez faibles et lorsque les concentrations sont modifiées, il est trop tard pour l’animal.

Face à un problème de sous-production en élevage bovin, un des examens complémentaires dont dispose le vétérinaire est l’analyse des macro-éléments urinaires. Lorsque les causes infectieuses et parasitaires ont été écartées et qu’un problème lié à l’alimentation est envisagé, cette analyse est un outil supplémentaire dans le cadre d’un audit d’élevage ou d’un suivi.

  1. La calciurie

L’excrétion urinaire du calcium ne représente qu’une faible partie du calcium excrété par un bovin et ne dépend pas de la calcémie (MESCHY, 2010). Ainsi un pH urinaire bas associé à une calciurie élevée est un signe d’acidose métabolique.

  1. La phosphaturie

Le phosphore est lui aussi majoritairement éliminé dans les fèces, son excrétion urinaire est faible. L’acidose ruminale aiguë fait augmenter le phosphore urinaire (ENEMARK et al., 2004 ; NIKOLOV, 1998) et une insuffisance rénale peut aussi provoquer une hyperphosphaturie (LUNN et McGUIRK, 1990).

  1. La magnésiurie

La relation linéaire existant entre l’absorption digestive du magnésium et son excrétion urinaire en fait un bon indicateur du statut nutritionnel (MESCHY, 2010). La concentration urinaire est plus sensible aux carences en magnésium que la concentration plasmatique, ce qui fait de l’analyse urinaire le test de choix pour diagnostiquer une telle carence. Une acidose métabolique, y compris celle induite par un faible BACA de la ration, peut faire augmenter l’excrétion rénale de magnésium (LUNN et McGUIRK, 1990 ; LEAN et al., 2006).

  1. Excrétion urinaire des électrolytes (K, Na, Cl)

L’urine est un support intéressant pour évaluer les apports des électrolytes étant donné l’efficacité de leur absorption intestinale, leur faible excrétion par voie fécale (MESCHY, 2010) et l’absence de stockage dans le corps (APPER-BOSSARD et al., 2010). Des relations linéaires existent entre les apports en sodium et chlore et leur élimination urinaire (APPER-BOSSARD et al., 2010). Les concentrations urinaires en potassium, sodium et chlore sont ainsi des indicateurs du niveau d’apport alimentaire.   Retrouvez toutes les informations concernant ces dosages dans notre catalogue de prestations.

Vous avez une question ?

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus !